-A +A

Festival Awards

The Frameline Award

Established in 1986, the Frameline Award is given every year to a person or entity that has made a major contribution to LGBTQ representation in film, television, or the media arts. Past honorees range from film historian and author Vito Russo, to Hong Kong director Stanley Kwan, Frameline festival founders, avant-garde lesbian filmmaker Barbara Hammer, drag artiste extraordinaire Divine, longtime Frameline Executive Director Michael Lumpkin, producer Christine Vachon, producer/distributor Marcus Hu, comedien/activist Margaret Cho, and visionary distributor Wolfe Video.

We proudly present the 2015 Frameline Award to Jeffrey Schwarz.

The Frameline Festival Audience Awards

Since 1983 our audience has been responsible for selecting the Best Feature Film, Best Documentary Film and Best Short Film of the Festival. Putting the power in the audience's hands, the Frameline AT&T Audience Awards offer cash prizes to the favorite Feature ($1000), Documentary ($1000) and Short ($500) in the festival. Audience members will be able to vote via text message from any text-enabled mobile device.

If you love a film, simply text the film's voting code to 55333 within six hours of the start of the screening. To find the film's voting code, look on-screen after the show, check out the film's Frameline online description, download the Frameline Festival App, or ask a staff member or a volunteer. And remember: you get just one vote per film per mobile device. Standard messaging rates may apply (a small price to pay to support LGBTQ filmmakers).

Frameline's Juried Awards

Frameline has a long history of supporting outstanding films and filmmakers, and we continue that tradition with our juried awards for First Feature and Best Documentary of Frameline38!

Past Frameline Award Recipients

1986 Vito Russo
1987 Alexandra von Grote
1988 Divine
1989 Cinevista/Promovision
1990 Robert Epstein
1991 Elfi Mikesh
1992 Marlon Riggs
1993 Pratibha Parmar
1994 Christine Vachon
1995 Marcus Hu
1996 Peter Adair
1997 Channel Four Television
1998 Dolly Hall
1999 Stanley Kwan
2000 Barbara Hammer
2001 The Festival’s Founders
2002 Isaac Julien
2003 Fenton Bailey & Randy Barbato
2004 Rose Troche
2005 Gregg Araki
2006 Francois Ozon
2007 Andrea Sperling
2008 Michael Lumpkin
2009 George & Mike Kuchar
2010 Wolfe Video
2011 Margaret Cho
2012 B. Ruby Rich
2013 Jamie Babbit
2014 George Takei